EVENT PICS: The Children’s Theatre of Cincinnati’s 90th Anniversary Gala

From left to right: Angela Powell Walker, Artistic Director of The Children's Theatre of Cincinnati and Roderick Justice, Associate Artistic Director of The Children's Theatre of Cincinnati.

To celebrate its 90th season, The Children’s Theatre of Cincinnati (TCTC) hosted more than 200 guests at a very special Anniversary Gala on Saturday, April 25th at the newly opened Renaissance Hotel in downtown Cincinnati.  Through sponsorships, guest ticket sales and a live and silent auction, the event raised more than $85,000.

The organization was honored to present the first ever “Glass Slipper Award,” an award for “Turning the Ordinary into the Extraordinary,” to Mr. John Prout, President and CEO of TriHealth.  One such example being the Good Samaritan Free Health Center which exemplifies the TriHealth mission to improve the health status of the people they serve by providing a full range of health related services including prevention, wellness and education. The care at the center is of the highest quality and is delivered with compassion that is consistent with Good Samaritan Hospital's longstanding values.  

Also honored at the event with the “Enchanted Award” was The Junior League of Cincinnati.  In 1924, the Junior League of Cincinnati developed a plan to introduce children in Cincinnati to the magic of theater.  They created the Junior League Players…now known as The Children’s Theatre of Cincinnati.  What could be more enchanting than honoring those that started the organization that has inspired the imaginations of children for 90 years!

This magical night of celebration also included a performance by The Children’s Theatre’s STAR Cabaret, special guest emcee, Bob Herzog from Local 12, and live music from The Rusty Griswolds.

Event Chair:  

Ms. Jeanette Altenau, Director of Community Relations, TriHealth

Co-chairs for the event included:

Mr. Robert H. Castellini, CEO of The Cincinnati Reds & Chairman of The Castellini Group of Companies
Mr. Stephen A. Loftin, President and Executive Director, Cincinnati Arts Association
Mr. Ralph S. Michael, III, President and CEO, Fifth Third Bank
Dr. O’Dell M. Owens, President, Cincinnati State Technical and Community College.